Free Consultation

(803) 350-9230

Workers Compensation FAQ: Do I get reimbursed for my travel expenses when I go to the doctor?

Workers Compensation FAQ: Do I get reimbursed for my travel expenses when I go to the doctor?


Question: Do I get reimbursed for my travel expenses when I go to the doctor?

Answer: Yes, if the round trip distance is more than ten miles from your home. Effective August 23, 2004, the South Carolina Workers Compensation Commission has approved allowance for trips to a pharmacy if the round trip distance is more than ten miles from your home. You should be reimbursed for the round trip mileage at the allowed state employees for mileage. Effective January 1, 2018, the reimbursement rate is 54.5 cents per mile.

If you have any questions or concerns about your case, just give us a call today. It will not cost you anything to see if we can help! The number is (803) 350-9230 and ask to speak with a member of our Workers Compensation team.


I got hurt at work what should I do?

Have you been hurt on the job?  Here is the best advice for what to do if you have been injured at work:

1.  Report the Injury to your Employer

Report all injures at work to your employer immediately and request medical treatment, if needed. If you do not report the injury within 90 days of the accident you may lose your benefits. Although you must report the injury within 90 days, you have up to two years to file a claim for benefits. If a worker dies because of work-related injuries, the workers’ dependents, or parents if there are no dependents, must file a claim within two years of the death to claim benefits.

2.  Request and Seek Medical Treatment

It is important to request and seek medical treatment as soon as possible in order to get a proper diagnosis, and to document the nature and extent of your condition.  If you do not request or seek medical treatment for your injuries, the workers’ compensation insurance company will not believe that you are hurt.  Do not delay your medical care!

3.  Contact a Trusting Workers Compensation Attorney to Properly File your Claim

If you have been hurt at work, you need to properly file your claim.  You should file your claim immediately if your employer does not report your accident, fails to provide proper treatment, denies your injury by accident, or if you are not getting the benefits that you deserve.  You can file the claim yourself through a Form 50 and request a hearing, but beware!! The Workers Compensation laws in South Carolina are complex and hard to navigate alone. If you do not file your form properly, and the form is not properly served and correctly filled out, you could lose your case.  The insurance company will hire a lawyer to defend the workers’ compensation to fight against the injured worker.  Insurance company adjusters and lawyers will work to make sure you do not get the benefits that you deserve.  Denying your claim or limiting your recovery is what the insurance company adjusters and their lawyers are paid to do.

The Workers Compensation attorneys at the Goings Law Firm, LLC are trusting, compassionate, and work hard to diligently fight for your rights.  We are a team of award winning lawyers.  We will make sure that your case is on track so that you get all the medical and financial benefits that you deserve.  Contact us today for a free consultation.  We have helped thousands of people– let us help you today.  Call us today at 803-350-9230 for a free consultation.

 


Deadline to Give Notice of an Injury in Worker’s Compensation

When is it too late to give notice of an injury?

Answer:  After 90 days of the injury!

You may have heard this in connection of an accident you had at work from your employer or their insurance carrier.. “I’m sorry because you did not report your injury immediately on the day it happened your claim has been denied and Worker’s Comp. cannot cover you.”   If you have heard this from an insurance company or an employer please know that this is not the law.

Although timely reporting of an injury may help your claim, South Carolina workers compensation laws only require that reporting of an accident and injury to the employer within 90 days of the date of the accident.  In another words…immediately means within 90 days, regardless of the employer’s policies or rules.  This 90 day rule cannot be changed or altered by an employee policy or handbook.  If you fail to give notice to your employer within 90 of the accident, you could lose your right to recover any workers compensation benefits.

We find that many individuals who are injured on the job are hopeful the injury will simply go away in a few days and never report it for that reason.  Often these hard working individuals are more concerned with getting the job done than taking care of themselves. Sometimes the injured employee is even bullied into thinking if they report it they will be hurting the company or jeopardizing their job.  Often they will work until the job is completed that day in the hopes that taking a couple days off or easing off the amount of work they’re doing for the next week will somehow allow an orthopedic type injury to heal. Unfortunately, the injured workers intent is actually focused on helping the employer however the delay will likely provide ammunition for the insurance company to deny your case. Don’t let that happen to you. Know the law and know the attorneys who know the law. For free consultation please contact the Goings Law Firm, LLC at 803-350-9230.  Let us help you get the benefits you deserve under the law.


A truck collision is worth contacting an attorney

It is important to contact an attorney following a trucking collision.  The insurance claims adjuster that may contact you is not looking out for your best interest.  The insurance claims adjuster is helping to make sure the trucking company and its insurance carrier compensations you the least as possible, or not at all.  You need the help of an experienced trucking accident attorney on your side.

Trucking collisions occur on our roadways in South Carolina almost everyday.  The facts related to trucking accidents are alarming.

The highest number of crashes involving 18-wheelers or large commercial truck occur on long haul trips.  Approximately 65% of all fatalities from trucking accident occur on long-haul trips.  Statistics show that 1 in 4 truckers admit to falling asleep while driving during the previous month.  This is because trucker consistently get less than 5 hours of sleep per night.  This sleep is often in a the cab of the truck, and truckers use high does of caffeine, and sometimes drugs, to attempt to stay alert behind the wheel.  You may not realize it, but the lack of sleep impacts alertness and performance similar to being under the influence of alcohol.  Truckers are required to meet strict load and delivery schedules, and their compensation is largely based on logging as many hours behind the wheel as possible.  While there are mandatory Hours of Service rules set forth by Federal Regulations, these rules are often ignored by drivers of 18-wheeler.

Severe injuries or death is more likely to occur in a trucking collusion due to the sheer size of 18-wheelers – which can be as long as 53 feet and weigh up to 80,000 pounds.  Large trucks only account for 4 percent of all registered vehicles, yet they account for 8 percent of all vehicles involved in fatal crashes. Or, that when large trucks collide with other vehicles, it is the occupants of those vehicles – not the truck drivers – who are killed or injured 73 percent of the time.

If you or a loved one has been injured in a collision that involved an 18-wheeler or a large truck, you need to call the Goings Law Firm, LLC at (803) 350-9230.  We provide aggressive and compassionate representation to injured victims and their families.  It will not cost you anything to see if we can help.  We offer free consultations to protect the rights of injured victims of trucking accidents.


Tips on What to Do After a Truck Collision

HAVE YOU BEEN SEVERELY INJURED IN A TRUCK ACCIDENT IN SOUTH CAROLINA?

Here are some quick tips that we tell most clients:

  1. Seek medical attention for yourself before attempting to do anything else.  Often time injuries can manifest several hours or days after a collision once the adrenaline and initial shock of the trauma wears off.  If your injuries require, you should follow up with your family doctor or other specialist after your discharge from the hospital or emergency room.
  2. Try to documenting the accident scene through photographs and videos on your cell phone.
  3. If there are any witness or onlookers at the accident scene, its is very important to get their full names, addresses, and phone numbers.  Never rely on the police officer to gather this information.
  4. Do not admit fault to anybody at the scene.  Limit what you say to statements of facts to the responding law enforcement officer.
  5. Avoid speaking altogether to insurance adjusters and attorneys representing the trucking company and other potential defendants. Nothing good will come out of talking to an insurance adjuster or trucking company representative without an attorney.  The insurance adjuster or the trucking company claims representation is not your friend!
  6. Most importantly, strongly consider hiring an experienced truck accident lawyer as soon a possible.  At the very least, call an attorney at our firm and we will try to answer any questions that you may have– but please know that without a lawyer, your rights could be severely jeopardized.

If you or a loved one has been injured as a result of a collision with a truck, give the Goings Law Firm, LLC a call today at (803) 350-9230.  We have more tips that we cannot put on the website and there is no obligation to see if we can help.  We are South Carolina’s Trucking Accident Lawyers.


Dog attacks and kills a child in South Carolina

On December 1, 2017, a child was killed in Cherokee County, South Carolina after being attacked by dogs, reported the Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office.

According to the reporte, an 8-year-old boy was walking with another child between homes on Daniel Morgan School Rd. when three dogs began attacking the victim. He was pronounced dead at the scene.When deputies arrived at the scene, the dogs were inside a fenced-in area. The other child who was with the victim was also bitten during this attack. That child was taken to the hospital by a relative to be treated.

The child who died was Korbin Michael Williams of Gaffney, according to the Cherokee County Coroner’s Office. He lived at a home on Daniel Morgan School Rd., states the report.

Two of the dogs were shot and killed when they aggressively approached the responding deputies.

If you or a loved one has been severed injured or killed as a result of a dog attack, please contact the Goings Law Firm, LLC today at (803) 350-9230 to see if we can help.  We have a proven track record in protecting innocent victims from dog bites and animal attacks.  We represent dog bite victims throughout the State of South Carolina.  Call us today!


In The News

International Society of Barristers
10.0Robert F. Goings
Legal Elite Logo
South Carolina Leadership in law Honoree Logo
Rated a 10.0 Super Lawyer by Avvo.com
American Board of Trial Advocates
American Society of Legal Advocates Top 40 Under 40 - 2014
Best Law Logo
National Trial Lawyers Top 100
Legal Elite of the Midlands logo
 AV Preeminent
Best Law Badge
Best Personal Injury Attorneys in Columbia
South Carolina Association for Justice
Lead Counsel Seal
American Society of Legal Advocates Top 40 Under 40 - 2014
Super Lawyers Rising Star
Goings Law Firm, LLC, LawyersPersonal Injury & Property Damage, Columbia, SC